Reigning Champions Den Bosch Ease Their Way To The Semi Final

EuroHockey Club Cup Quarter-Final

s-Hertogenbosch 5 Victorya Smolevichi 0

Cup holders, ‘s-Hertogenbosch eased their way into the semi-finals against Victorya Smolevichi of Belarus. Victorya qualified after Russia dropped out of the top six qualifying countries at the end of last season.

Victorya put up a spirited defensive performance in the first quarter, holding ‘s-Hertogenbosch scoreless, but a spell of four goals in eight second quarter minutes left the Belarus club trailing at half time.

Ireen van den Assem found the backboard to break the deadlock in the 21st minute with Marloes Keetels doubling the lead two minutes later with a firm shot from the right of the circle into the far side netting. Further goals from Maartje Krekelaar and Margot van Geffen put ‘s-Hertogenbosch firmly in control.

Four minutes after half time, Sian Keil missed the opportunity to extend the Dutch club’s advantage, firing a penalty stroke straight at Victorya’s goalkeeper, Tatsiana Charei. The final goal came in the 37th minute, Lieke Hulsen scoring from open play and seal a semi-final match against Club Campo de Madrid.


Scorers: Ireen van den Assem 21-F, Marloes Keetels 23-F, Maartje Krekelaar 24-F, Margot van Geffen 28-F, Lieke Hulsen 37-F

Squad: Josine Koning (GK); Danique van der Veerdonk, Ireen van der Assem, Pien Sanders, Sanne Koolen, Fréderique Matla, Marloes Keetels (Capt.), Lidewij Welten, Lieke Hulsen, Maartje Krekelaar, Margot van Geffen.

Subs: Pleunke van der Plas (3 mins), Imme van der Hoek (5), Marlies Verbruggen (7), Sian Keil (8), Joosje Burg (8), Rachelle Groot (46)

Victorya Smolevichi

Squad: Hanna Zabrotskaya, Khrystina Mitskevich, Maryna Nikistina, Katsiaryna Mikhalik, Ryta Batura (Capt.), Yulia Mikheichyk, Dziyana Batsiukova, Karyna Syddykava, Tatsiana Charei (GK), Dziana Khmylova, Hanna Zhylevich

Subs: Aliaksandra Mikulich (8 mins), Xenia Efimencova (8), Palina Papelskaya (23), Nadzeya Litasava (25), Dziana Hanets (27).

Subs not used: Krystina Miastouskaya (GK), Viktoryia Burakova.

Umpires: Hannah Harrison (England) and Alison Keogh (Ireland)

Colin Pike | Images: Prospective Photos

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s