The Double Double, Can Den Bosch be stopped?

EuroHockey Club Cup Final

UHC Hamburg 1 ‘s-Hertogenbosch 2

‘s-Hertogenbosch beat Hamburg 2-1 for the second season running to win the EuroHockey Club Cup at Surbiton HC.

The game remained close for almost three quarters before Fréderique Matla broke the deadlock with a fine reverse stick finish in front of goal. In the 51st minute, Katharina Frank levelled from the left of the circle with a shot into the far netting, rolling over with the momentum before celebrating with her teammates.

The winning goal was worthy of the final, ‘s-Hertogenbosch attacking from within their own half, Matla running towards the bye-line before crossing from the right for Pleunke van der Plas to finish from very short range.

‘s-Hertogenbosch could have taken the lead early in the third quarter but a shot was cleared off the goal-line. They had also had a double chance to score just before half time, but although Hamburg defended successfully, the Dutch club’s gradually increasing pressure during the third quarter eventually led to Matla giving the holders the lead.

Overall, the staging of the tournament was very successful, partially due to the hot and sunny weather throughout the four days. As a result, it has been suggested that Surbiton HC should be the venue for other tournaments.

UHC Hamburg

Scorer: Katharina Frank 51-F

Squad: Noelle Rother (GK); Jana Teschke, Katharina Frank, Hannah Siefert, Lena Micheel, Eileen Hoffman, Janne Müller-Wieland (Capt.), Roda Müller-Wieland, Charlotte van Bodegom, Belen Iglesias Marcos, Marie Mävers,

Subs: Nora Korn (5 mins), Jenny Siemer (5), Nicola Evans (5), Sophie Mayen (6).

Subs not used: Jessica Klovekorn (GK); Emily Günther, Fenna Slawyk.


Scorers: Fréderique Matla 45-F, Pleunke van der Plas 59-F

Squad: Jonine Koning (GK); Rosa Fernig, Ireen van der Assem, Pien Sanders, Sanne Koolen, Fréderique Matla, Marloes Keetels (Capt.), Lidewij Welten, Lieke Hulsen, Maartje Krekelaar, Margot van Geffen.

Subs: Pleunke van der Plas (3 mins), Joosje Burg (5), Imme van der Hoek (5), Marlies Verbruggen (6), Sian Keil (21)

Subs not used: Rachelle Groot (GK), Danique van der Veerdonk.

Umpires: Jung Hee Kim (Korea) and Alison Keogh (Ireland).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s