England: Rod Gilmour Wins 2023 Graham Wilson Award

The Hockey Writers’ Club is thrilled to announce that Rod Gilmour, a distinguished figure in the world of hockey journalism, has been honoured with the prestigious 2023 Graham Wilson Award. This accolade recognises Rod’s unwavering commitment and outstanding contributions to hockey media.

Rod Gilmour has been a beacon of excellence in sports journalism, particularly in the field of hockey, where his passion and dedication have shone through in every piece he has penned. His insightful reporting, engaging storytelling, and in-depth analysis have not only captivated readers but have also significantly contributed to the promotion and understanding of the sport.

2023 Graham Wilson Award winner Rod Gilmour, presented by Lisa Wilson.
2023 Graham Wilson Award winner Rod Gilmour, presented by Lisa Wilson.

The Graham Wilson Award, named in memory of the late, esteemed hockey journalist Graham Wilson, is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional skill, integrity, and dedication in the field of hockey media. Rod’s receipt of this award is a testament to his remarkable career and the high esteem in which he is held by his peers and the wider hockey community.

Rod’s work has consistently highlighted the thrills of the game, the dedication of its players, and the vibrant hockey community. His articles in The Hockey Paper and national media have brought the sport closer to fans, helping to foster a deeper appreciation and love for hockey across the nation and beyond.

Rod said: “This award is a fantastic honour to receive and one close to my heart. Graham and I had originally conceived the idea of The Hockey Paper and following his death I made sure that the publication would first launch and then grow.

“I have been involved in hockey since 2010 and have been lucky to report on the sport across the globe. I just treat it as a major sport. It’s a fascinating, exciting and vibrant sport to cover both on and off the pitch and hockey is never short of stories.”

The Hockey Writers’ Club extends its heartfelt congratulations to Rod Gilmour on this well-deserved accolade. His contributions have left an indelible mark on hockey journalism, and this award serves as a fitting tribute to his outstanding career.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

SanFair Newsletter

The latest on what’s moving world – delivered straight to your inbox
Verified by MonsterInsights