England: England Hockey announce men’s and women’s squad for EuroHockey Championships

England Hockey has named 18 players in both the men’s and women’s squads that will represent the country at the EuroHockey Championships in Munchengladbach, Germany from 18 – 27 August.

David Ames and Hollie Pearne-Webb have been selected as captains of the men’s and women’s squads and lead the players into one of the biggest competitions of 2023.

The men’s squad have been drawn into Group A alongside Belgium, Spain and Austria. The team finished in second place in the recent invitational competition in Spain and have recently moved back to third in the world rankings.

It’s Group B for the women’s squad and they will take on Germany, Ireland and Scotland. The England women’s squad have a proven track record at major competitions having won the Commonwealth Games just one year ago and achieving a top five place at every EuroHockey Championships. 

The EuroHockey Championships is the first opportunity for countries to qualify a place at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. The winning country will secure their place at the Games next year with the next chance to qualify in January at the Olympic qualifiers.

Men’s team Head Coach, Paul Revington, said: “I’m pleased to announce such a strong England team for the EuroHockey Championships. We’ve had some really promising performances over the last 12 months and I want to see the team continue that form and momentum in Germany.

“We will face top quality opposition again throughout the event, and I know this team will be excited to deal with each challenge they encounter throughout the tournament.”

Women’s Head Coach, David Ralph, said: “We’re all excited to get started at the EuroHockey Championships. We’ve had some good early seasons tests which I believe has been good preparation for the level of competition we’ll face in Germany.  

“We’ve got a good mix of youth and experience in the team who is full of talent but there’s no denying this is the biggest competition of the year, and we will focus on executing our plans and going one match at a time.”

Men’s team:

  1. James Albery
  2. David Ames
  3. Nick Bandurak
  4. Will Calnan
  5. Brendan Creed
  6. James Gall
  7. David Goodfield
  8. James Mazarelo
  9. Tim Nurse
  10.  James Oates
  11.  Nick Park
  12.  Ollie Payne
  13.  Phil Roper
  14.  Tom Sorsby
  15.  Zach Wallace
  16.  Jack Waller
  17.  Sam Ward
  18.  Conor Williamson

Women’s team:

  1. Giselle Ansley
  2. Grace Balsdon
  3. Fiona Crackles
  4. Sophie Hamilton
  5. Tess Howard
  6. Sabbie Heesh
  7. Holly Hunt
  8. Alex Malzer
  9. Hannah Martin
  10.  Lizzie Neal
  11.  Lily Owsley
  12.  Hollie Pearne-Webb
  13.  Flora Peel
  14.  Izzy Petter
  15.  Ellie Rayer
  16.  Laura Roper
  17.  Amy Tennant
  18.  Lily Walker

by England Hockeyl

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

SanFair Newsletter

The latest on what’s moving world – delivered straight to your inbox
Verified by MonsterInsights