India: Day 2 Results: 14th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2024

~ Salmia Tete (15’) and Mumtaz Khan (34’) scored for Hockey Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh Hockey respectively in their 2-2 draw ~

~ Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Telangana Hockey and Hockey Bengal won their respective games ~

Pune, 14th March: Day 2 of the 14th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship witnessed Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Hockey Jharkhand play out a thrilling draw in a star-studded match while Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Hockey Telangana and Hockey Bengal won their respective matches at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium Pimpri, Pune.

Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Hockey Jharkhand play out a thrilling draw:

Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Hockey Jharkhand played out a thrilling draw in their Pool C game with the score reading 2-2 at full-time. Hockey Jharkhand found the back of the net first with Indian Team midfielder Salima Tete (15’) scoring a field goal at the end of the first quarter. They went on to double their lead when Reshma Soreng (19’) converted a penalty corner as the first half ended with Hockey Jharkhand’s two goals in front.

The game was far from over as Uttar Pradesh Hockey reduced the deficit to one goal after a penalty corner conversion from Indian Team forward Mumtaz Khan (34’) in the third quarter before Bano Hina (47’) converted yet another penalty corner early in the final quarter to equalize. With both teams coming close to taking the decisive lead, but neither being able to break through each other’s defence, the game ended in a draw with the score reading 2-2 and the two teams earning one point each from the game.

Hockey Madhya Pradesh wins two in a row to qualify for Quarter-Finals:

Earlier in the day, defending Champions Hockey Madhya Pradesh defeated Hockey Bihar 7-1 in Pool A. Hritika Singh (45’, 50’, 60’) scored a hat-trick while Aishwarya Chavan (6’) for Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Preeti Dubey (9’), Kanchan Nidhi Kerketta (32’) and Hockey Madhya Pradesh Captain and Indian Team defender Ishika Chaudhary (33’) scored a goal each for their team. The solitary goal for Hockey Bihar came from the stick of Ebha Kerketta in the final quarter as Hockey Madhya Pradesh went on to top Pool A and qualified for the knockouts.

Telangana Hockey brings up commanding win:

In the third game of the day, Telangana Hockey defeated Hockey Gujarat 12-0. Telangana Hockey Captain Edula Jyothi (24’, 26’, 27’) led from the front with a hat-trick, Sri Chandana Gandhapu (9’, 37’), Harleen Kour Sardarni (14’, 47’) and Preethi Dharla (25’, 57’) scored braces while Anusha Chekkala (44’), Akhila Mandla (45’) and Varshitha Muppala (56’) scored a goal each for Telangana Hockey.

Hockey Bengal wins second consecutive game:

The fourth game of the day saw Hockey Bengal defeat Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu 2-0 in their Pool H game. The two goals for Hockey Bengal were field goals that came from Sushmita Gandha (21’) and Sushmita Panna (38’) in the second and third quarters respectively as they went on to win the game without conceding any goals.

All the matches will be live-streamed on FanCode.

By Hockey India

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

SanFair Newsletter

The latest on what’s moving world – delivered straight to your inbox
Verified by MonsterInsights