NCAA: FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup Chile 2023: One Month to Go!

Content courtesy of FIH

We are just one month away from the start of the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup Chile 2023 as Santiago, Chile gears up to welcome the global hockey family and put on a great show! 

The 16 teams chasing glory are eager to get going, show their impressive skills on the world stage and etch their names in the history books. Meanwhile the hosts have pulled out all the stops to ensure the players have a tournament to remember for a lifetime. The fans, local and global alike, are ready to cheer for the next generation of hockey’s Rising Stars who are primed for a break out! 

All the teams that have qualified for the event have been placed into their respective pools. 


Pool A provides four competitors coming from four different continents as hosts Chile are joined by Australia, South Africa and defending champions Netherlands! 

Pool B features two two-time winners Argentina (1993, 2016) and Korea (2001, 2005) along with Spain and Zimbabwe. In fact, both Argentina and Korea will have fond memories of Santiago, Chile as each team has tasted success in the past editions of the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cups played in the city in 2005 and 2016.

Pool C places two semi-finalists of the 2021 edition together with silver medalists Germany along with semi-finalists India, with both teams hoping to go further ahead in the 2023 edition. Joining them will be Belgium and Canada. 

Pool D will see vastly different playing styles come to the fore with Bronze medalists of the 2021 edition England grouped together with Japan, New Zealand and United States. 


Santiago, Chile has deep ties with hockey and this will be the third FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup to be played in the city, which has previously played host to the event in 2005 and 2016. 

The World Cup begins in one month on 29 November with 12 teams in action on opening day! Pool B action, with Korea taking on Zimbabwe, will get the event underway at 10am local time. High octane clashes between Netherlands and Australia, India and Canada, Argentina and Spain, Germany and Belgium will follow, before hosts Chile play the final match of the opening day against South Africa. The full match schedule for the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup can be found here

Relive all the magical action from the previous edition of the FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup 2021, on the “Explore section” of the Watch.Hockey app! 

Find out more about the home team Chile and how they are drawing inspiration from their home fans ahead of the World Cup, by clicking here


For more information, visit the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup Event Page.


Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

SanFair Newsletter

The latest on what’s moving world – delivered straight to your inbox
Verified by MonsterInsights